TEDxExeter 2017: HOPE

BY:
Doug Walker

Being fortunate enough to attend this year’s TEDxExeter (Exeter’s leading ideas festival back for the 6th year), I have been energised to share some of my favourite speakers, their work, vision and hope for the future. The event took place on Friday 21st April 2017, to a 900+ audience in the Exeter Northcott Theatre and was joined via livestream by a truly global audience. There were over 80 planned viewing events, and last year people in 69 countries watched online.

The day was broken up over 4 sessions and was laid out as follows:

Session 1 – 9.25 – 10.50am Session 3 – 2.10 – 3.20pm
Madhumita Murgia My identity for sale @madhumita29 Gill Hayes Hope in hell @gillhayes2
Dr. Deborah Lipstadt My courtroom battle with a Holocaust denier Streamed TED film Gulalai Ismail From radicalisation to peacebuilding @Gulalai_Ismail
Virginie Helias Hope in a bottle @virginiehelias James Craig Brexit: Moving forwards together @JamesKCraig
Ludovico Einaudi “Elegy for the Arctic” – Greenpeace Streamed TED film Jo & Toby Gorniak Helping young people find their genius @stfactorycic
Howard Johns Your invitation to the energy revolution @howardjohns Street Factory Performance @stfactorycic
Session 2 – 11.30am-12.50pm
Session 4 – 4.00 – 5.15pm
Maya Angelou Still I Rise Streamed TED film  Casey Gerald The gospel of doubt  Streamed TED film
Christina Lamb Finding hope in dark places @christinalamb  Vik Mohan How listening to communities can help save our oceans @VikMohan1
Nujeen Mustafa I am not a number @NujeenMustafa  Rob Wilson Ending food waste one beer at a time @iamrobertwilson
Kagemusha Taiko Performance @KagemushaTaiko  Matt Harvey Poetry Performance @mattharvey4
Andrew Solomon How open borders make us safe @Andrew_Solomon  Kester Brewin Creating new summers of love in times of darkness @kesterbrewin

All speakers and performers were inspirational, giving the audience a true sense of perspective by sharing their experiences. One of my personal favourites was Howard Johns – Your invitation to the energy revolution.

Howard John’s belief is that we must switch to renewables and how this can be achieved within our local communities, but while the technology is there, the political will to make changes may not be.

He believes in changing the system from the bottom up and making the next great leap forward to achieving clean, affordable, democratic energy. It’s time for us to take control, relocalise, reduce costs and carbon emissions, repower our neighbourhoods and join the energy revolution.

 

WHAT NEXT?

If you’d like to keep up-to-date with the latest trends, give AB a follow on Twitter and Instagram or subscribe for our exclusive monthly email highlights.

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST

Blog email signup

* Required Fields

Our privacy policy explains how we use any personal information we collect from you.

Sending

Author: Doug Walker

Doug has over 13 years experience in digital marketing and at least 8 years in the luxury hospitality sector. Doug is an avid gamer but equally likes to spend time outside in the great outdoors. Doug is a self-confessed SEO nerd, when he's not optimising for the web, he can be found in the kitchen cooking up spicy food!

SHARE:

  • Link to AB's Twitter page
  • Link to AB's Linkedin page
  • Link to AB's Google+ page
  • Email AB